Hanford middle linebacker, tight end and running quarterback Theron Dutra capped off his amazing football season by earning 2017 West Yosemite League defensive player of the year.

The Bullpups were 2-8 overall (2-4 WYL) and missed the playoffs for the first time since 2012, but that didn’t stop Dutra from producing every Friday night.

Dutra finished with 102 tackles (36 solo), two sacks and an average of 10.2 tackles per game. He also had a fumble recovery, a blocked punt and two blocked field goals.

On the offensive side of the ball, the senior had 51 carries for 234 yards and six touchdowns. Dutra was utilized a lot in the wildcat, especially near the goal line and it worked time and time again. He also made four catches for 24 yards.

Teammate Joseph Bonner was named lineman of the year for his protection of Dutra, quarterback Juaron Watts-brown and anyone else who lined up in the back field. Bonner also had 17 tackles including two for a loss and a sack.

Other members from Hanford to make the First Team were defensive back Jupri Hughes, linebacker Tyler Mello, defensive lineman Elias Perez and running back Travone Houston.

Second Team members included Deontay Houston, Noah Ramirez, Thomas Knight, Daylon Davis, Adam Avila and Lejuane Haynes.

Hanford West

Hanford West, who had its first home playoff game in more than a decade and won, had nine players selected to the All-League teams, but only one made the First Team. That honor belonged to wide receiver Antonio Perez, who hauled in 73 catches for 709 yards and four touchdowns.

The Huskies won their home playoff game against Bishop Union 24-21 before losing a quarterfinals game against Shafter 51-6. Perez, a junior, had three catches for 18 yards in the loss against Shafter.

Hanford West’s other eight players selected to the Second Team were Jayron Jenkins, Lavazyon Handsbur, Shaun Koelewyn, Ramon Ruvalcaba, Joaquin Castro, Josh Nuckles, Vincent Rangel and Val Rangel.


Lemoore led all three teams with 16 All-League selections and kicker Josh Roa was named special teams player of the year. Roa converted 29 of 32 extra points and was three-of-six on field goal attempts. The senior had 38 kickoff attempts which averaged 44.5 yards and he had 25 touchbacks. When it came to punting, Roa punted 15 times for an average of 30.9 yards and a long of 55 yards.

Lemoore’s Jack Foote and Jake Gonsalves were selected to the First Team. Foote had 50 catches for 733 yards and nine touchdowns. He also carried the ball 26 times for 135 yards and a rushing touchdown. The two-way player also made 51 tackles (39 solo) and had an interception and fumble recovery.

The other 14 players to make the Second Team were William Kloster, Damian Goudeau, Ray Escandon, Tahje Tabbs, Jalen Daniels, Carlos Hernandez, Mateo Brewer, Leo Fregoso, Steven Wilhite, Xavier Logan, Damion Charleston, Brandon Hargrove and Amier Hollis.

Noe Garcia can be reached at (559) 583-2431 or ngarcia@hanfordsentinel.com. Follow Noe on Twitter at @noecarlosgarcia.