West Hills Community College District Chancellor Dr. Frank Gornick was recently awarded the Harry Buttimer Distinguished Administrator Award.

Dr. Gornick received the distinction from the Association of California Community College Administrators. 

Throughout the state, the Buttimer Award is known as “the highest honor a community college administrator can receive from their peers.” The award comes prior to Gornick’s retirement in July. For 23 years, he worked at the West Hills Community College District and has led the District since he began serving as superintendent-president.

Gornick received the award on Feb. 23 at the annual Association of California Community College Administrators Conference.

“I’m honored and humbled to receive this prestigious award from my peers and to be included in the list of prior awardees who represent some of the best and brightest administrators in California Community Colleges,” Gornick said in the press release.

The award is named after the late Harry Buttimer, who was a founding member of the association. 

The award recognizes college leaders for their integrity, compassion, strength in leadership and contributions to the college district and community, among other things.

Gornick has previously been recognized by his peers with awards, including the MetLife Foundation Community College Excellence Award, the Executive of the Year Award from the Public Relations Society of America for college communications.

Former recipients of the Buttimer Award include:

2016 – Steve Kinsella, Superintendent/President, Gavilan CCD

2015 - Robert Deegan, President, Palomar College

2014 - Wes Bryan, President, Golden West College

2013 - Thelma Scott-Skillman, Chancellor, Community College of San Francisco.

2012 - Sandra Serrano, Chancellor, Kern Community College District.

2011 - John Nixon, CEO of the Mt. San Antonio Community College District.

2010 - Fran White, President/Superintendent of Marin Community College District.

2009 - Helen Benjamin, Chancellor of Contra Costa Community College District.

2008 - Diane Woodruff, Interim Chancellor of the California Community Colleges.

2008 - Stan Arterberry, Chancellor of West Valley-Mission Community College District.

2008 - Guy Lease, President of Lake Tahoe Community College District.

2007 - Rocky Young, Chancellor of the Los Angeles Community College District.

2006 - Susan Cota, the first female Hispanic Chancellor in the California Community College system.

2006 - Edward Valeau, President Emeritus of Hartnell College.

2005 - Don Averill, Chancellor of the San Bernardino Community College District.

2004 - Augustine Gallego, served as Chancellor of the San Diego Community College District.

2003 - Linda Salter, taught mathematics at the University of Oregon and several community colleges.

2002 - Bill Feddersen, served as a President/CEO at Napa Valley College and Mt. San Antonio College.

2001 - Floyd Hogue, Presiedent of New River College.

2000 - James Walker, President of Moorpark College.

1999 - Ron Kong, started his 36 year career in the California community college system as a faculty member.

1998 - Del Anderson, Chancellor of the City College of San Francisco.

1997 - Judy Starttan, Vice President of Student Services at Barstow College.

1996 - Constance Carroll, Chancellor of the San Diego Community College District.

1995 - Dianne Van Hook, Chancellor, College of the Canyons.

1994 - George Boggs, President of Palomar College.

1993 - Jack Scott, President of Pasadena City College and later State Senator.

1992 - Peter MacDougall, President of Santa Barbara City College.

1991 - Beverly O’Neil, Dean at Long Beach City College.

1991 - Al Fernandez, Principal of Community College Search Services.

1990 - Benita Haley, Santa Monica Community College District.

1989 - Phyllis Wiedman Peterson, President of Diablo Valley.

1988 - Jack Randall, President of Mt SAC.

1988 - Jack Bessire, Director of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Contra Costa CCD.

1987 - Joe Newmyer, Palomar College.

1986 - Tom Van Groningen, Chancellor of the Yosemite Community College.

Load comments